1301.0 - Year Book Australia, 2007  
ARCHIVED ISSUE Released at 11:30 AM (CANBERRA TIME) 24/01/2007   
   Page tools: Print Print Page  
Contents >> Government


Image: GovernmentGOVERNMENT

This chapter was contributed by the Politics and Public Administration Section of Library of the Commonwealth Parliament (September 2006).

Australia has a federal system of government within which there are four divisions: Commonwealth, state, territory and local.

This chapter outlines the basic features of the Australian system of government, including:

    • constitutional basis of government
    • the Sovereign
    • the Governor-General
    • Commonwealth Parliament
    • Australian Government
    • Australian Public Service
    • Commonwealth elections
    • state government
    • territory government - self-governing
    • territory government - non-self governing
    • local government
    • political parties.
It also provides details of the Commonwealth ministry, and of the state and territory government leaders.

This section contains the following subsection :
      Constitutional basis of government
      The Sovereign
      The Governor-General
      Commonwealth Parliament
      Australian Government
      Australian Public Service
      Commonwealth elections
      State government
      Territory government
      Local government
      Political parties
      Reference notes

Previous PageNext Page