1301.0 - Year Book Australia, 2003  
ARCHIVED ISSUE Released at 11:30 AM (CANBERRA TIME) 24/01/2003   
   Page tools: Print Print Page  
Contents >> Government >> Introduction

Australia has a federal system of government within which there are four divisions: Commonwealth, state, territory and local government.

This section outlines the basic features of the Australian system of government, including:

  • the constitutional basis of government
  • the Sovereign
  • the Governor-General
  • the Commonwealth Parliament
  • the Commonwealth Government
  • the Australian Public Service
  • Commonwealth elections
  • state government
  • territory government - self-governing
  • territory government - non-self governing
  • local government
  • the party system.

It also provides details of the Commonwealth ministry, and of the state and territory political leaders.

This section concludes with an article Should the House of Representatives have four-year terms?

Previous PageNext Page