Australian Bureau of Statistics

Rate this page
ABS Home > Statistics > By Release Date
ABS @ Facebook ABS @ Twitter ABS RSS ABS Email notification service
1301.0 - Year Book Australia, 2006  
Previous ISSUE Released at 11:30 AM (CANBERRA TIME) 20/01/2006   
   Page tools: Print Print Page RSS Feed RSS Bookmark and Share Search this Product  
Contents >> Chapter 2 - Government >> Territory government



The Commonwealth Government assumed control of both the Northern Territory and the Australian Capital Territory during 1911. The Northern Territory (since 1978) and the Australian Capital Territory (since 1989) are now self-governing territories with powers almost matching those of the original states. The Northern Territory has been working towards full statehood, though a referendum on the question was rejected by Northern Territory voters in 1998. Norfolk Island was accepted into the Commonwealth as an Australian territory in 1914. The Norfolk Island Act 1979 grants a considerable degree of self-government.

The Northern Territory and Norfolk Island both have an administrator of the territory, appointed by the Governor-General (table 2.8). The Australian Capital Territory has neither administrator nor governor. Each territory has an elected Legislative Assembly, with a wide range of powers.

2.8 ADMINISTRATORS - September 2005

Northern TerritoryThe Hon. EJ Egan, AM
Norfolk IslandThe Hon. GEJ Tambling

Source: Library of the Commonwealth Parliament.

Each territory has a government headed by a chief minister (table 2.9). The Northern Territory and the Australian Capital Territory have a formally recognised opposition headed by an opposition leader. Norfolk Island’s Legislative Assembly does not possess a formal opposition.

2.9 CHIEF MINISTERS - September 2005

Northern TerritoryThe Hon. CM Martin, MLA (ALP)
Australian Capital TerritoryThe Hon. J Stanhope, MLA (ALP)
Norfolk IslandThe Hon. GR Gardner

Source: Library of the Commonwealth Parliament.


Jervis Bay Territory, and the external territories of the Cocos (Keeling) Islands, Christmas Island, Coral Sea Islands, and Ashmore and Cartier Islands, make up the non-self governing territories of Australia.

The resident communities in each of Jervis Bay Territory, the Cocos (Keeling) Islands and Christmas Island are provided with an extensive range of government services. Each of the Cocos (Keeling) Islands and Christmas Island has an elected local government, and residents may vote in Commonwealth parliamentary elections in the electorate of Lingiari (Northern Territory). Residents of Jervis Bay Territory are enrolled in the electorate of Fraser (Australian Capital Territory).

Previous PageNext Page

Bookmark and Share. Opens in a new window

Commonwealth of Australia 2016

Unless otherwise noted, content on this website is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 Australia Licence together with any terms, conditions and exclusions as set out in the website Copyright notice. For permission to do anything beyond the scope of this licence and copyright terms contact us.