Australian Bureau of Statistics

Rate the ABS website
ABS Home > Statistics > By Catalogue Number
ABS @ Facebook ABS @ Twitter ABS RSS ABS Email notification service
1270.0.55.002 - Australian Statistical Geography Standard (ASGS): Volume 2 - Indigenous Structure, July 2011  
Latest ISSUE Released at 11:30 AM (CANBERRA TIME) 20/09/2011  First Issue
   Page tools: Print Print Page Print all pages in this productPrint All RSS Feed RSS Bookmark and Share Search this Product  
Contents >> Indigenous Structure >> Indigenous Regions (IREG)


Indigenous Regions (IREGs) are large geographical units loosely based on the former Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Commission boundaries. They are created by aggregating one or more IAREs. The greater population of IREGs enables the highest level of granularity of attribute data through greater cross classification of variables compared with IAREs and ILOCs. For the 2011 Census 57 IREGs are defined to cover the whole of geographic Australia. IREGs do not cross S/T borders.

There are non-spatial IREGs for Migratory - Offshore - Shipping and No Usual Address in each S/T.


IREG Names are allocated by ABS and are generally based upon a commonly identified name or combination of names for the area/community which the boundary encompasses.


IREGs are sorted alphabetically by name within each S/T then allocated a two-digit code starting from 01. This is prefixed by a single digit S/T code to complete the IREG code.

Special purpose codes are included as balancing items. SA1s allocated to these codes are not part of any official IREG

  • Codes ending in 94 are reserved for cases where people are coded to No Usual Address SA1s.
  • Codes ending in 97 are reserved for cases where people are coded to Migratory, Offshore and Shipping SA1s.


S/T Name S/T Code IREG Code IREG Name

Victoria 2 201 Melbourne
Victoria 2 202 Victoria exc. Melbourne
Victoria 2 294 No usual address (Vic.)
Victoria 2 297 Migratory - Offshore - Shipping (Vic.)

Statistics from the 2011 Census are available for all levels of the structure.

Previous Page

Bookmark and Share. Opens in a new window

Commonwealth of Australia 2015

Unless otherwise noted, content on this website is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 Australia Licence together with any terms, conditions and exclusions as set out in the website Copyright notice. For permission to do anything beyond the scope of this licence and copyright terms contact us.