1329.0.55.002 - Vineyards Estimates, Australia, 2008-09 Quality Declaration 
Previous ISSUE Released at 11:30 AM (CANBERRA TIME) 27/10/2009   
   Page tools: Print Print Page Print all pages in this productPrint All RSS Feed RSS Bookmark and Share Search this Product



Derived zones published by the ABS are based on those defined by the Australian Wine and Brandy Corporation. These zones are based on Australian Geographical Indication (GI) Zones and Regions, which are the official descriptions of Australian wine zones, regions and sub-regions as defined in the Australian Wine and Brandy Corporation Act, 1980. For more detail on Australian GIs, including maps of zones and regions, see the Australian Wine and Brandy Corporation website, http://www.wineaustralia.com/australia.


The following list details the GI Zones and derived zones used in this publication. Each listing is a GI Zone unless otherwise described as a derived zone.

New South Wales

      Big Rivers (excludes NSW Murray-Darling and NSW Swan Hill GI Regions) (derived zone)
      Central Ranges
      Hunter Valley
      NSW Murray-Darling Swan Hill (derived zone) - includes:
          NSW Murray-Darling GI Region; and
          NSW Swan Hill GI Region
      North and West NSW (derived zone) - includes:
          Northern Rivers GI Zone;
          Northern Slopes GI Zone; and
          Western Plains GI Zone
      South Coast
      Southern NSW

      Central Victoria
      Vic. Murray-Darling Swan Hill (derived zone) - includes:
          Vic. Murray-Darling GI Region; and
          Vic. Swan Hill GI Region
      Port Phillip and Gippsland (derived zone) - includes:
          Gippsland GI Zone; and
          Port Phillip GI Zone
      North East Victoria
      North and West Vic. (derived zone) - includes:
          North West Vic. (excludes Vic. Murray-Darling and Vic. Swan Hill GI Regions) (derived zone); and
          Western Vic. GI Zone


South Australia
      Far North and The Peninsulas (derived zone) - includes:
          Far North GI Zone; and
          The Peninsulas GI Zone
      Limestone Coast
      Lower Murray
      Mount Lofty Ranges

Western Australia
      WA Other (derived zone) - includes:
          Central WA GI Zone;
          Eastern plains, Inland and North Western Australia GI Zone; and
          West Australia South East Coast GI Zone
      Greater Perth
      South West Australia


Northern Territory
      Northern Territory

Australian Capital Territory
      Australian Capital Territory