Australian Bureau of Statistics

Rate this page
ABS Home > Statistics > By Release Date
ABS @ Facebook ABS @ Twitter ABS RSS ABS Email notification service
2901.0 - Census Dictionary, 2006 (Reissue)  
Previous ISSUE Released at 11:30 AM (CANBERRA TIME) 17/11/2006  Reissue
   Page tools: Print Print Page RSS Feed RSS Bookmark and Share Search this Product  
Contents >> Glossary >> Geographical Australia

Geographical Australia

For ASGC purposes, the ABS uses the definition of Australia as set out in section 17(a) of the Acts Interpretation Act 1901 and as amended by the Territories Law Reform Act, No. 104, 1992.

Geographical Australia, since 1993, includes:

New South Wales, Victoria, Queensland, South Australia, Western Australia, Tasmania, Northern Territory, Australian Capital Territory, Jervis Bay Territory, and the external territories of Christmas Island and Cocos (Keeling) Islands.

See also Australia.

Previous PageNext Page

Bookmark and Share. Opens in a new window

Commonwealth of Australia 2016

Unless otherwise noted, content on this website is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 Australia Licence together with any terms, conditions and exclusions as set out in the website Copyright notice. For permission to do anything beyond the scope of this licence and copyright terms contact us.