1216.0 - Australian Standard Geographical Classification (ASGC), Jul 2007  
Previous ISSUE Released at 11:30 AM (CANBERRA TIME) 28/09/2007   
   Page tools: Print Print Page Print all pages in this productPrint All RSS Feed RSS Bookmark and Share Search this Product  


The SR Structure has six levels of hierarchy in census years, comprising in ascending hierarchical order: CDs-SLAs-SRSs-SRs-MSRs-S/Ts. In non-census years, with CDs undefined, it has only five levels of hierarchy (see ASGC Structural Chart, Chapter 1).

The spatial units in adjoining levels relate to each other by aggregation and disaggregation. For example, SRSs aggregate to SRs while SRs are disaggregates of MSRs. The spatial units within each level of the SR Structure cover the whole of Australia (as defined in Chapter 1) without gaps or overlaps.


Detailed tables of the SR Structure are shown in Chapter 15 - The Classification Structures.

For example:

  • Statistical Region Structure - Broad

(showing three hierarchical levels: S/T-MSR-SR)

Diagram: Statistical Region Structure - Broad

For example:
  • Statistical Region Structure - Detailed

(showing five hierarchical levels: S/T-MSR-SR-SRS-SLA)

Diagram: Statistical Region Structure - Detailed

Previous PageNext Page