Australian Bureau of Statistics

Rate the ABS website
ABS Home > Statistics > By Release Date
ABS @ Facebook ABS @ Twitter ABS RSS ABS Email notification service
2901.0 - Census Dictionary, 2006 (Reissue)  
Previous ISSUE Released at 11:30 AM (CANBERRA TIME) 17/11/2006  Reissue
   Page tools: Print Print Page RSS Feed RSS Bookmark and Share Search this Product  
Contents >> Glossary >> Local Government Area (LGA)

Local Government Area (LGA)

A Local Government Area (LGA) is a geographical area under the responsibility of an incorporated local government council, or an incorporated Indigenous government council. The LGAs in Australia collectively cover only a part of Australia. The main areas not covered by LGAs are northern parts of South Australia, a large part of the Northern Territory, the western division of New South Wales, all of the Australian Capital Territory and the Other Territories.

The number of LGAs and their boundaries can change over time. Their creation and delimitation is the responsibility of the respective state/territory governments, and are governed by the provisions of state/territory local government and other relevant Acts. The LGAs applicable to the 2006 Census output are those which existed at 7 August, 2005. This early cut off date allows time for the Census mapping to be completed. These LGAs are represented in the 2006 edition of the ASGC.

The types of LGAs in each state and the Northern Territory are:

    • New South Wales: Cities, and Areas;
    • Victoria: Cities, Rural Cities, Boroughs and Shires;
    • Queensland: Cities, Towns, and Indigenous Councils;
    • South Australia: Cities, Rural Cities, Municipalities and District Councils;
    • Western Australia: Cities, Towns and Shires;
    • Tasmania: Cities and Municipalities; and
    • Northern Territory: Cities, Towns, Shires and Community Government Councils.

For more information and a list of the local government areas in each state and the Northern Territory, refer to Statistical Geography Volume 1: Australian Standard Geographical Classification (ASGC) 2006 (cat. no. 1216.0).

Previous PageNext Page

Bookmark and Share. Opens in a new window

Commonwealth of Australia 2015

Unless otherwise noted, content on this website is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 Australia Licence together with any terms, conditions and exclusions as set out in the website Copyright notice. For permission to do anything beyond the scope of this licence and copyright terms contact us.