Australian Bureau of Statistics

Rate this page
ABS Home > Statistics > By Catalogue Number
ABS @ Facebook ABS @ Twitter ABS RSS ABS Email notification service
1220.0 - ANZSCO - Australian and New Zealand Standard Classification of Occupations, 2013, Version 1.2  
Latest ISSUE Released at 11:30 AM (CANBERRA TIME) 26/06/2013   
   Page tools: Print Print Page RSS Feed RSS Bookmark and Share Search this Product  


    MAIL SORTERS receive, sort and despatch mail in organisations and postal sorting centres.

    Indicative Skill Level:
    Most occupations in this unit group have a level of skill commensurate with the qualifications outlined below.

    In Australia:

      AQF Certificate I, or compulsory secondary education (ANZSCO Skill Level 5)

    In New Zealand:
      NZ Register Level 1 qualification, or compulsory secondary education (ANZSCO Skill Level 5)

    For some occupations a short period of on-the-job training may be required in addition to or instead of the formal qualification. In some instances no formal qualification or on-the-job training may be required.

    Tasks Include:

    • receiving and checking incoming mail and mail bags
    • assisting with the verification of registered and special articles
    • operating mail processing equipment such as letter preparation lines, letter indexing and sorting equipment
    • performing manual sorting duties and preparing documentation for despatching mail
    • processing underpaid mail, bulk mail lodgements, express mail and other mail services
    • operating letter indexing and sorting machines, multi-line optical character machines and bar-coding equipment
    • investigating complaints regarding lost items

      561411 Mail Clerk
      561412 Postal Sorting Officer


    Alternative Title:
      Mail Officer

    Collects, sorts and despatches mail within an organisation.

    Skill Level: 5


    Receives, sorts and despatches mail in a post office or postal sorting centre.

    Skill Level: 5


      Parcel Post Officer

Previous PageNext Page

Bookmark and Share. Opens in a new window

Commonwealth of Australia 2016

Unless otherwise noted, content on this website is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 Australia Licence together with any terms, conditions and exclusions as set out in the website Copyright notice. For permission to do anything beyond the scope of this licence and copyright terms contact us.