Australian Bureau of Statistics

Rate this page
ABS Home > Statistics > By Release Date
ABS @ Facebook ABS @ Twitter ABS RSS ABS Email notification service
1362.7 - Regional Statistics, Northern Territory, 2007  
Previous ISSUE Released at 11:30 AM (CANBERRA TIME) 31/10/2007   
   Page tools: Print Print Page Print all pages in this productPrint All RSS Feed RSS Bookmark and Share Search this Product  



The Northern Territory has an area of 1 346 200 square kilometres, comprising approximately 17% of Australia's land mass. The NT sits within two main climatic zones: monsoon-tropical in the north; and semi-arid to arid desert moving south towards the centre of Australia.

The tropical northern region of the NT has a distinctive wet and dry season. The 'wet season' which officially runs from 1 October to 30 April, and the 'dry season' which runs from 1 May to 30 September. Relative humidity is highest in the wet season (averaging between 61% to 87% at 9.00am during the wet season in Darwin in 2006). During the dry season a much lower monthly average of 50% was observed in Darwin for June 2006. Humidity levels drop as the location moves further from the coast.

Mean Relative Humidity at 9 am, Selected regions: 2006
Graph: Mean Relative Humidity at 9 am, Selected regions: 2006

In 2006 all recorded locations in the Northern Territory, except for Alice Springs, received lower than average rainfall.

Annual Rainfall, Northern Territory: 2006
Graph: Annual Rainfall, Northern Territory: 2006

Further information on the Northern Territory's environment is available through the following sources:

Department of Natural Resources, Environment and the Arts

Bureau of Meteorology

Bookmark and Share. Opens in a new window

Commonwealth of Australia 2016

Unless otherwise noted, content on this website is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 Australia Licence together with any terms, conditions and exclusions as set out in the website Copyright notice. For permission to do anything beyond the scope of this licence and copyright terms contact us.