ABS Fun Run

ABS Club Lime - Club Pink Fun Run and Walk
Thursday 16 May 2019

Entry Form: ABS Fun Run Entry Form 2019.pdf

Start and finish in John Knight Park, adjacent to Lake Ginninderra College.
Start time:
11.30am - Late entries.
12 noon - Stretching.
12.30pm - Runners start.
12.30pm - Walkers start at the back of the pack.
7km runner/5km walker circuit from John Knight Park Lake Ginninderra.
Entry Forms:
Entry forms are available above.
Team nominations close on Tuesday 14 May 2019.
Individual entries may be accepted on the day but will be subject to the organisers’ capacity to process the entry.
Entry forms must be signed and dated.
Entry fees:
$10.00 adults and $5.00 students/concession.
Proceeds from the ABS Fun Run will be donated to the
ACT Cancer Council.
Chest number distribution:
Each participant will be allocated a number, which must be worn, and clearly visible on the front, during the run. Chest numbers will be posted or delivered in bulk to schools and Government departments. Individual entrants should enclose a stamped self-addressed envelope so their chest number can be posted to them
There will be water available on the course and at the finish of the race.
Toilets are located in John Knight Park close to the start/finish.
No dogs, bikes, rollerblades or skateboards.
Medallions will be handed to the first three male and female finishers.
Prizes are available for all participants.
Email: fun.run@abs.gov.au or phone: 6252 6498(bh)



Medallions will be presented to the first three male and female finishers in the following categories:

Open entry
ABS entry

Seasonally Adjusted

Perpetual Trophies
will be awarded as follows:

Castles Shield (Organisation, 20 or more entries)

          The Castles Shield competition is open to teams with 20 or more participants who complete the course. There are two ways of gaining points towards the Castles Shield:

          Volunteers gain 20 points – to volunteer send email to

          There are two types of points allocated to runners and walkers:

          Standard Points:
          Points are allocated from 18 to 2, depending upon the time for completion and a different scale is used for males and females.

          Bonus Points:
          Bonus points are allocated to teams based upon their total number of participants who finish within 60 minutes and are allocated as follows:
        • Finishers between 25 and 49 - 25 points + 2 points for each finisher above 24
        • Finishers between 50 and 74 - 75 points + 3 points for each finisher above 49
        • Finishers between 75 and 99 - 150 points + 4 points for each finisher above 74
        • Finishers above 100 - 250 points + 5 points for each finisher above 99

          The total points ( Standard + Bonus ) are then divided by the number of finishers to provide an average for the organisation.

Ginninderra Cove Trophy
          First male finisher
Margaret Timpson Trophy
          First female finisher
Jim Armstrong Award
          First ABS Male
Jim Armstrong Award
          First ABS Female
Mick Atkinson Shield for Best Performed ABS Team
          ABS Sections that have at least 4 participants are eligible for this award. The average time of the 4 fastest team members is used to determine the winning section. A person's Section is determined at the time he/she enters the run.
Rob Martyn Trophy for First Seasonally Adjusted Athlete
          Awarded for the "best performance" (time adjusted) by a runner aged 40 years and over. Runners times are reduced based on sex and age. The factor used to reduce the time of the runners is based on the World record time in that age group compared to the world record time for Open runners over this distance.

          eg A 65 year old male runner will have his run time divided by 1.3444 to determine his seasonally adjusted time.

An individual runner can only contribute to a team result if he/she finishes within 60 minutes. The Small Team awards will be based upon average finish time per team. Small teams may be from schools or organisations.