1301.6 - Tasmanian Year Book, 1996  
ARCHIVED ISSUE Released at 11:30 AM (CANBERRA TIME) 13/09/2002   
   Page tools: Print Print Page Print all pages in this productPrint All

Feature Article - The Royal Australian Institute of Architects

Contributed by the Tasmanian Chapter of the Royal Australian Institute of Architects

The resurgence in the building profession in Tasmania, which started in 1993, has continued into 1995, particularly with major projects in both the capital, Hobart, and regional centres.

Two major initiatives that are affecting members of The Royal Institute of Architects (RAIA) in particular, but with spin-offs for the building profession and the public, are mandatory ‘Professional Development’ and ‘Qualification Based Selection’. The former aims to ensure that RAIA members constantly update and improve their skills and knowledge. The latter is a process that enables the client to obtain the services of a highly qualified architect at a fair and reasonable cost; an investment in quality which is aimed at achieving substantial savings over the life cycle of the project.


Probably the most public manifestation of the Royal Australian Institute of Architects members’ activities and worth is the Annual Architecture Awards program, held in the first half of the year, culminating in an Awards presentation evening. Awards are offered in four categories, namely Residential, New and Extended Buildings (which also includes Urban Design, Commercial and Interior Architecture), Recycling and Conservation and the S.W.T. Blythe Award for Students.

In the first three categories, entry is limited to work carried out in Tasmania by architects registered in Tasmania.

In 1991, named awards were re-introduced. These are the James Blackburn Award for Residential Buildings, John Lee Archer Award for New and Extended Buildings, and Henry Hunter Award for Conservation including Recycled Buildings. One of these awards is offered each year on a triennial rotation, and is contested by the award winners in that category for the preceding three years.

In 1995, the John Lee Archer Award was shared by the ‘Ecologically Sustainable Tourist Development’ at the Friendly Beaches (Architect: Latona Masterman) and the Strahan Visitor Centre (Architect: Forward Viney Woollan, Morris-Nunn & Associates).

Twenty-four buildings were nominated for the 1995 Architecture Awards and seven entries nominated in the Student section. The following awards were made:

Residential category

The Furmage-Forward House
Architects: Forward Viney Woollan

New and extended building category

Hollybank Forest Training Centre
Architects: Leigh Woolley and David Travalia

Mount Stuart Primary School-new classrooms
Architects: Crawford Wegman Architects

Salamanca Mews
Architects: Eastman Heffernan Walch and Button (Urban Design section)

Northern Midlands Council
Architects: Morris-Nunn and Associates (Interiors section)

Recycling and conservation category

Conservation of Temple House
Architects: Professional Services Group (Conservation section)
Northern Midlands Council
Architects: Morris-Nunn and Associates (Recycled section)

S.W.T Blythe Student Award

Christopher Exner for his ‘Tasmanian Art Gallery at the Hobart Domain’ project.

At least three of the above projects have been short-listed for the National Awards to be announced in Brisbane in November 1995.