1249.0 - Australian Standard Classification of Cultural and Ethnic Groups (ASCCEG), 2019  
Latest ISSUE Released at 11:30 AM (CANBERRA TIME) 18/12/2019   
   Page tools: Print Print Page Print all pages in this productPrint All RSS Feed RSS Bookmark and Share Search this Product

About codes

Standard code scheme

Broad groups are represented by one-digit codes.
Narrow groups are represented by two-digit codes. The first digit represents the parent broad group code and the second digit represents the sequence of narrow groups within the parent broad group.
Cultural and ethnic groups are represented by four-digit codes. The first two digits represent the parent narrow group code and the final two digits represent the sequence of cultural and ethnic groups within a narrow group. The sequence is alphabetical order with the exception of residual 'not elsewhere classified' (nec) categories or where new groups have been added following reviews of the classification.
Cultural and ethnic groups do not have codes ending with '0' or '9' because these codes have specific functions within the code scheme.

Example of the categories in the 'Oceanian' broad group:

11 Australian Peoples
1101 Australian
1102 Australian Aboriginal
1103 Australian South Sea Islander
1104 Torres Strait Islander
1105 Norfolk Islander
12 New Zealand Peoples
1201 Maori
1202 New Zealander
13 Melanesian and Papuan
1301 New Caledonian
1302 Ni-Vanuatu
1303 Papua New Guinean
1304 Solomon Islander
1399 Melanesian and Papuan, nec
14 Micronesian
1401 I-Kiribati
1402 Nauruan
1499 Micronesian, nec
15 Polynesian
1501 Cook Islander
1502 Fijian
1503 Niuean
1504 Samoan
1505 Tongan
1506 Hawaiian
1507 Tahitian
1508 Tokelauan
1511 Tuvaluan
1512 Pitcairn
1599 Polynesian, nec

Residual ‘nec’ categories

Residual or 'not elsewhere classified' (nec) categories capture cultural and ethnic groups that are not separately identified in the main structure of the classification due to their low statistical significance. These categories are represented by four digit codes where the first two digits identify the narrow group to which they relate and the final two digits are '99'. The classification currently has 24 'nec' categories.

'NEC' codes are part of the main structure of the Australian Standard Classification of Cultural and Ethnic Groups (ASCCEG).

Residual ‘Other’ narrow groups

In some broad groups, codes are reserved for residual categories at the narrow group level.
    Codes start with the broad group code and end with ‘9’.
    Titles commence with ‘Other’.
    They include separately identified cultural and ethnic groups which do not fit into substantive narrow groups on the basis of the classification criteria.
    There are two of these groups in the classification - '49 Other North African and Middle Eastern' and '69 Other North-East Asian'.

Supplementary codes

Supplementary or 'not further defined' (nfd) codes are used to code responses that are insufficiently specific for the main classification structure to be used. They exist only for operational reasons. No data would be coded to them if sufficiently detailed responses were obtained in all instances.

Using supplementary codes enables responses or input data which can only be assigned codes at the broad or narrow group levels of the classification to be processed within a collection at the four digit level. The coding process can be as precise as the input data quality allows, preserving data that would otherwise be discarded as uncodable or aggregated with other data to which it is unrelated in the 'inadequately described' supplementary category.

Supplementary codes are not part of the classification structure. They are listed separately in Table 2 of the ASCCEG data cube (accessible from the 'Downloads' tab).

There are three types of supplementary codes:

Supplementary 'nfd' codes ending with zeros
    Four-digit codes ending in zeros are known as 'not further defined' (nfd) codes.
    They are used to code responses which do not contain sufficient information to be accurately coded to a substantive (four digit) cultural or ethnic group but which can be coded to a higher level (broad or narrow group) of the classification structure.

    The response 'Scandinavian' does not contain sufficient information to be coded directly to a substantive cultural and ethnic group, but it can be coded to narrow group '24 Northern European' which covers all the cultural and ethnic groups that are encompassed by the term 'Scandinavian'. It is allocated the 'nfd' code '2400 Northern European, nfd'.
    The response 'Celtic' does not contain sufficient information to be coded directly to a cultural or ethnic group or narrow group, but it can be coded to broad group '2 North-West European' as all Celtic cultural and ethnic groups originated and developed in North-West Europe. It is allocated the 'nfd' code '2000 North-West European, nfd'.

Supplementary codes commencing with zeros
    Four-digit codes commencing with '000' enable coding of responses that cannot be coded to any category in the ASCCEG.
    There are two supplementary codes of this kind: '0000 Inadequately described' and '0001 Not stated'.

Supplementary codes commencing with '09'

Four digit codes commencing with '09' are used to code ancestry responses which broadly describe the region of origin but cannot be coded to either a substantive cultural or ethnic group or to one of the 'nfd' codes. These codes allow the collection and storage of data for responses such as African, Asian, and European.