1216.0 - Australian Standard Geographical Classification (ASGC), Jul 2009  
ARCHIVED ISSUE Released at 11:30 AM (CANBERRA TIME) 16/09/2009   
   Page tools: Print Print Page Print all pages in this productPrint All  


The S Dist. Structure has four levels of hierarchy in census years, comprising in ascending order: CDs-SLAs-SSDs-S Dists. In non-census years, with CDs undefined, it has only three levels of hierarchy (see ASGC Structural Chart, Chapter 1).

In this structure, CDs, SLAs and SSDs are confined to those which fall within S Dists. The spatial units relate to each other through aggregation or disaggregation. For example, CDs aggregate to SLAs while SLAs are disaggregates of SSDs. The spatial units within each level of the S Dist. Structure do not collectively cover the whole of Australia.


The current S Dist. Structure, down to SLA level, is shown in Chapter 15 - The Classification Structures.

For example:

  • Statistical District Structure

(showing three hierarchical levels: S Dist.-SSD-SLA)


11005 Newcastle
1720 Cessnock (C)
4651 Lake Macquarie (C) - East
4653 Lake Macquarie (C) - North
4655 Lake Macquarie (C) - West
5050 Maitland (C)
5903 Newcastle (C) - Inner City
5904 Newcastle (C) - Outer West
5905 Newcastle (C) - Throsby
6400 Port Stephens (A)

Previous PageNext Page