1216.0 - Australian Standard Geographical Classification (ASGC), July 2011  
ARCHIVED ISSUE Released at 11:30 AM (CANBERRA TIME) 05/10/2011  Final
   Page tools: Print Print Page Print all pages in this productPrint All  
Contents >> Introduction >> Classification Structures


The interrelated classification structures of the 2011 ASGC are:

  • Main Structure
  • Local Government Area Structure
  • Statistical District Structure
  • Statistical Region Structure

Each structure serves a specific purpose and is individually discussed in this publication.

Historically in Census of Population and Housing years (e.g. 1996, 2001, 2006), all structures of the ASGC are defined. In intercensal years, only the first four structures are defined. As this is the final edition of the ASGC, only limited structures will be available for 2011: the Main Structure, the Local Government Area Structure, the Statistical District Structure and the Statistical Region Structure.

The three remaining structures, Urban Centres and Localities, Section of State and Remoteness Structures, have not been included as Census Collection Districts are no longer defined. These structures are now defined in the new Australian Statistical Geography Standard (ASGS).

The Main Structure and the Statistical Region Structure cover the whole of Australia without gaps or overlaps. The Local Government Area and the Statistical District Structures cover only part of Australia. The structures are hierarchical, with different structures having different numbers of levels (see Table 1). Each hierarchical level is made up of one type of geographical spatial unit. The spatial units at each higher level are aggregations of the spatial units at the previous lower level.

Previous PageNext Page