1384.6 - Statistics - Tasmania, 2008  
ARCHIVED ISSUE Released at 11:30 AM (CANBERRA TIME) 10/02/2006  Ceased
   Page tools: Print Print Page Print all pages in this productPrint All  
Contents >> Environment >> Land >> World Heritage listings

Natural and cultural properties that are considered to be of ‘outstanding universal value’ and that meet the criteria of the World Heritage Convention may be entered on the World Heritage List. The list is compiled by the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organisation (UNESCO) World Heritage Committee. Signatories to the Convention (such as Australia) undertake to identify, protect, conserve, present and transmit to future generations the properties entered on the World Heritage List.

There are two World Heritage properties in Tasmania: the Tasmanian Wilderness and Macquarie Island.


    • listed in 1982
    • covers 1.38 million hectares (approximately 20% of Tasmania)
    • features a diverse array of both natural and cultural features of global significance, e.g. pristine habitats for plants and animals that are found nowhere else in the world and the most significant and extensive glacially modified landscapes in Australia.

Further information can be found on the
Tasmania Parks and Wildlife Service web site at http://www.parks.tas.gov.au/wha/whahome.html

    • listed in 1997
    • a site of major geoconservation significance, being the only place on earth where rocks from the earth's mantle (6 km below the ocean floor) are being actively exposed above sea-level.

Further information can be found on the following web sites:

Previous PageNext Page