2082.0 - Discover Your Commonwealth Electoral Division, Australia, 2019  
Latest ISSUE Released at 11:30 AM (CANBERRA TIME) 01/03/2019   
   Page tools: Print Print Page Print all pages in this productPrint All RSS Feed RSS Bookmark and Share Search this Product


The boundaries for commonwealth electoral divisions have changed since the 2016 federal election. The most recent boundary redistributions by the Australian Electoral Commission (AEC) were:

  • the 2017 redistribution of the Northern Territory and Tasmania, and
  • the 2018 redistribution of Queensland, Victoria, the Australian Capital Territory and South Australia.

A detailed explanation and report of federal electoral boundary redistributions can be found on the Australian Electoral Commission website.


The Commonwealth Electoral Divisions developed by the ABS are an approximation of the AEC electoral divisions, using one or more Statistical Areas Level 1 (SA1) in the Australian Statistical Geographic Standard (ASGS).

There were 56 electoral divisions affected by boundary change between 2016 and 2018.

Compared to 2016:
  • there are 151 electoral divisions rather than 150 divisions
  • there are 2 new electoral divisions, specifically Fraser in Victoria and Bean in the Australian Capital Territory
  • 1 electoral division has been dissolved, specifically Port Adelaide in South Australia
  • 6 existing electoral divisions have been renamed