1384.6 - Statistics - Tasmania, 2008  
ARCHIVED ISSUE Released at 11:30 AM (CANBERRA TIME) 28/09/2005  Ceased
   Page tools: Print Print Page Print all pages in this productPrint All  

The Governor of Tasmania is the representative of the Sovereign in the state and exercises the powers of the Crown in state matters. The Queen appoints the Governor on the advice of the Premier, generally for a five-year term. Powers and duties of the Governor are similar to those of the Governor-General and were gazetted in March 1986.


The Governor's powers include:

    • performing ceremonial functions as the representative of the Queen
    • summoning and terminating Parliament; after considering the advice of the Premier
    • assenting to Bills
    • opening each session of parliament by outlining the legislative program of the government.

The Governor’s executive powers include:
    • appointing ministers of the Crown, judges and other important state officers except those appointments that may be made by certain statutory corporations
    • creating the Executive Council of the day
    • acting against the advice of the Executive Council if circumstances require, although reasons for such action must be immediately reported to the Queen.


The Honourable William Cox, AC, RFD, ED, was sworn in as Governor of Tasmania on 15 December 2004, succeeding the previous Governor of Tasmania, Mr Richard Butler, AC.


A list of Governors from the time of Lt Bowen's settlement in 1803 can be found on the Tasmanian Parliamentary Library web site, http://www.parliament.tas.gov.au/tpl/datasheets/Governors_Table.htm

More information about the Governor of Tasmania is available from the Department of Premier and Cabinet web site,

Previous PageNext Page