1270.0.55.001 - Australian Statistical Geography Standard (ASGS): Volume 1 - Main Structure and Greater Capital City Statistical Areas, July 2011  
ARCHIVED ISSUE Released at 11:30 AM (CANBERRA TIME) 23/12/2010  First Issue
   Page tools: Print Print Page Print all pages in this productPrint All  
Contents >> Main Structure >> STATE AND TERRITORY (S/T)


The S/T is the largest spatial unit in the Main Structure and in the ASGS.

Six States and five territories are recognised in the ASGS:

  • New South Wales
  • Victoria
  • Queensland
  • South Australia
  • Western Australia
  • Tasmania
  • Northern Territory
  • Australian Capital Territory
  • Jervis Bay Territory
  • Territory of Christmas Island
  • Territory of the Cocos (Keeling) Islands.

These spatial units are political entities with fixed boundaries. Except for the last three mentioned Territories, the total area of each S/T, including their offshore islands, is used for statistical purposes as a separate spatial unit in the ASGS. Jervis Bay Territory, and the Territories of Christmas Island and Cocos (Keeling) Islands are included as one spatial unit at the S/T level under the category of Other Territories.

S/Ts consist of one or more SA4s. In aggregate, they cover Australia without gaps or overlaps.

S/Ts are identified by unique one-digit codes within Australia as follows:

State and Territory Codes and Names

Code S/T

1 New South Wales
2 Victoria
3 Queensland
4 South Australia
5 Western Australia
6 Tasmania
7 Northern Territory
8 Australian Capital Territory
9 Other Territories

Previous PageNext Page