1301.0 - Year Book Australia, 2005  
ARCHIVED ISSUE Released at 11:30 AM (CANBERRA TIME) 21/01/2005   
   Page tools: Print Print Page  
Contents >> Government >> Introduction

This chapter was contributed by the Department of the Parliamentary Library of the Parliament of the Commonwealth of Australia (October 2004).

Australia has a federal system of government within which there are four divisions: Commonwealth, state, territory and local government.

This chapter outlines the basic features of the Australian system of government, including:

  • the constitutional basis of government
  • the Sovereign
  • the Governor-General
  • the Commonwealth Parliament
  • the Australian Government
  • the Australian Public Service

Commonwealth elections
  • state government
  • territory government - self-governing
  • territory government - non-self governing
  • local government
  • the party system.

It also provides details of the ministry, and of the state and territory political leaders.

The chapter concludes with an article Drawing House of Representatives electorate boundaries.

Previous PageNext Page