1384.6 - Statistics - Tasmania, 2006  
ARCHIVED ISSUE Released at 11:30 AM (CANBERRA TIME) 04/04/2006   
   Page tools: Print Print Page Print all pages in this productPrint All  

The Tasmanian Department of Health and Human Services provides hospital services through three major hospitals, 20 rural hospital sites and multi-purpose service centres, and one palliative care centre. Tertiary services are provided in limited locations and include neurosurgery, cardiac surgery, neo-natal intensive care, vascular surgery, specialised paediatric surgery and a severe burns unit. Secondary hospital services such as general medicine and general surgery, orthopaedics, obstetrics and gynaecology, and paediatric services are more widely available throughout the state.

The three major public hospitals (Royal Hobart Hospital, Launceston General Hospital, and North West Regional Hospital) are also the state’s designated teaching hospitals, although private hospitals and residential aged care facilities also make a significant contribution to the training and education of Tasmania’s health care professionals.

Some public hospital services are purchased from the private sector. Major contracted patient services include maternity services (North West Private Hospital),and ophthalmology (Tasmanian Eye Clinic, Launceston Eye Clinic and North West Private Hospital). Diagnostic pathology and imaging services are also contracted for the North West Regional Hospital, as are nuclear medicine services at the Launceston General Hospital. There is also a partnership between the Royal Hobart Hospital and the Hobart Private Hospital with respect to some patient care and support services.

Single site private hospital services include:

      • St Vincent’s Hospital (Launceston) Ltd, run by the Sisters of Charity Health Service,

      • The Hobart Clinic, which provides an acute psychiatric service to the whole of the state and is owned and operated by the Hobart Clinic Association,

      • Phillip Oakden House, which is run by the Anglican Church;

Multi-site private services include:
      • Healthscope Ltd provides services at the North West Private Hospital, the Hobart Private Hospital and St Helen’s Private Hospital,

      • Calvary Health Care Tasmania has three campuses in the Hobart area, at Lenah Valley, South Hobart and New Town, and

      • St Luke’s Private Hospital in Launceston.

(Source: Reforms for the 21st Century: The Tasmanian Hospital System: Report of the Expert Advisory Group Review into Key Issues or Public and Private Hospital Services in Tasmania, May 2004, Department of Health and Human Services)

This section contains the following subsection :
          Hospital services

Previous PageNext Page