1100.2 - Statistics Victoria, Dec 2010  
ARCHIVED ISSUE Released at 11:30 AM (CANBERRA TIME) 28/01/2011   
   Page tools: Print Print Page Print all pages in this productPrint All  
Contents >> Points of Contact


On this page:
National Information and Referral Service
ABS Victorian Office
Victorian Statistical Leadership Contacts
Editor, Statistics Victoria
Victorian Statistics Advisory Forum


The National Information and Referral Service (NIRS) is the first point of contact for all your statistical and publication enquiries.

Our consultants have been trained in the range of statistical data and information that is produced by the Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS), and for straightforward queries, they are able to provide free information and data to you over the phone.

Phone: 1300 135 070
Fax: 1300 135 211


There is an ABS Office in every capital city. The ABS Office in Victoria is located on Level 5, South Tower, 485 LaTrobe Street, Melbourne. To email the Regional Director or Statistical Leadership contacts listed below, use <victoria.statistics@abs.gov.au>.

Postal address
GPO Box 2796Y
Melbourne Vic 3001

Regional Director
ABS Victoria
Lane Masterton
(03) 9615 7330


Pam Boulton
(03) 9615 7880

Assistant Director
Natalie Sloan
(03) 9615 7510

Assistant Director
Robert Letheby
(03) 9615 7423

Assistant Director - Victorian Statistical Analytical Services Section
James Darragh
(03) 9615 7049

Esther Cramer
(03) 9615 7904
For a free subscription, email:


The purpose of Victorian Statistics Advisory Forum is to act as the key collaborative forum for consultation between the Victorian Government and the Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS) with the aim of furthering the use of statistics and developing statistical capability across Victoria.

The Victorian Statistics Advisory Forum's objectives are to:
  • strategically and collaboratively determine the statistical needs that support Victorian whole-of-government policy priorities to provide clear direction to the broader ABS and the State and Territory Statistical Services forward work program;
  • promote the value and effective use of quality statistical information and infrastructure to support evidence based policy decisions; and
  • encourage dialogue within and across State Government agencies to develop and share information on statistical developments and to disseminate statistical best practice.
VSAF meets quarterly each year. The next meeting is on March 10, 2011. The following people are current departmental representatives for the forum:

VSAF Chair
Ms Mary Cavar

Department of Treasury and Finance
Mr Peter Froutzis

Department of Premier and Cabinet
Mr Michael Krien (interim representative)

Department of Innovation, Industry and Regional Development
Ms Daniela Sekirski

Department of Education and Early Childhood Development
Dr Sara Glover

Department of Health
Dr Connie Spinoso

Department of Human Services
Mr Nigel Brand

Department of Justice
Dr Jonathon Spear

Department of Transport
Mr Philip Norman

Department of Planning and Community Development
Dr Tim Patton

Department of Sustainability and Environment
Ms Elizabeth Thomas

Department of Primary Industries
(awaiting appointment of new representative)

Australian Bureau of Statistics, Victoria
Mr Lane Masterton

Previous Page