4902.0 - Australian Culture and Leisure Classifications, 2014 (Third Edition)  
ARCHIVED ISSUE Released at 11:30 AM (CANBERRA TIME) 30/07/2014  Final
   Page tools: Print Print Page Print all pages in this productPrint All  
Contents >> Chapter 1: An introduction to the Classification >> The structure of the Classifications


The ACLC consist of three classifications: Industry, Product and Occupation.

The ACLC Industry Classification

The ACLC Industry Classification lists industries consisting of organisations for which the main activity is the production or provision of cultural and leisure goods and services. All types of business entities are included, such as commercial and subsidised organisations, government agencies, non-profit institutions and associations and individuals undertaking business activities. The ACLC Industry Classification aligns, where possible, with the Australian and New Zealand Standard Industrial Classification (ANZSIC), 2006 (Revision 2.0).

The ACLC Industry Classification is structured hierarchically, in a manner similar to many other classifications developed by the ABS. It has three levels of classification: Divisions, Groups and Classes. Each class contains a definition, a list of primary activities and a list of exclusions. There are 4 Divisions, 22 Groups and 79 Classes within the Industry Classification.

The ACLC Product Classification

The ACLC Product Classification consists of a list of cultural and leisure goods and services (together known as products). These products may be the primary outputs of the industries listed in the ACLC Industry Classification or produced by other industries (for example, museum services may be provided by a business unit in the mining industry). Until 2008, the ACLC Product Classification broadly sat within the framework of the Australian and New Zealand Standard Product Classification (ANZSPC). However, the ABS has since decommissioned the ANZSPC as the Australian statistical standard for products, and instead adopted the international Central Product Classification, Version 2.0 (CPCv2.0) as the overarching framework for product classifications.

The products included in the ACLC Product Classification are grouped into 26 broad Groups and 243 Classes.

The ACLC Occupation Classification

The ACLC Occupation Classification, which is based on the Australian and New Zealand Standard Classification of Occupations (ANZSCO), Version 1.2, lists occupations which are predominantly cultural or leisure in nature. Those ANZSCO classes which contain some cultural or leisure specialisations but are not predominantly cultural or leisure related have been excluded. For example, the specialist occupation ‘Sports scientist’ falls within the ANZSCO class, ‘Natural and physical science professionals n.e.c.’. However, as the majority of people whose main job was classified to this occupation class were working in jobs which are not cultural or leisure in nature, sports scientists are excluded from the ACLC. Thus, the ACLC Occupation Classification includes most, but not all, culture and leisure jobs. Furthermore, while it allows for classification of ‘paid jobs’ and ‘unpaid work’, the ACLC Occupation Classification is not designed to classify participation in personal hobbies or recreation activities.

The ACLC Occupation Classification contains 165 occupation Classes.

How do the Classifications in the ACLC correspond to other ABS Classifications?

The ABS presents most of its data for industries, products and occupations using standard classifications. However, each of these standard classifications is designed to cover the entire range of industries, products or occupations in existence, without gaps or overlaps. Users of information for a particular topic, such as culture and leisure, sometimes find that the level of detail provided by the standard classifications is insufficient for their purpose. For instance, ANZSIC 2006 (Revision 2.0) provides one class for all performing arts businesses (namely, Class 9001 ‘Performing arts operation’); in contrast, the ACLC Industry Classification provides five classes, thus allowing for the identification of different types of performing arts.

Correspondences are essential to determine how industries (or products or occupations) coded under one classification relate to industries coded under another classification. Each of the classifications in the ACLC has been developed from the respective standard classifications, as listed below. While every effort has been made to align with the standard classifications, in the ACLC Industry Classification in particular, many classes are not comparable with the standard. If a user wishes to compare data collected under the ACLC with data produced under the standard classifications (or vice versa), it is important to study the correspondence information to determine the degree to which this may be possible.

In this third edition of the ACLC, the primary changes relate to updating correspondences between the ACLC and the revised industry and occupation classifications, and the application of a new product classification.

The standard classifications used as bases in the development of the ACLC are listed below:

    ACLC Industry Classification – Australian and New Zealand Standard Industrial Classification
    ACLC Product Classification – Central Product Classification
    ACLC Occupation Classification – Australian and New Zealand Standard Classification of Occupations

Correspondences between the standard classifications and the ACLC are shown in this publication. The correspondences of the ACLC Industry Classification 2014 to ANZSIC 2006 (Revision 2.0), as well as ANZSIC 2006 (Revision 2.0) to the ACLC Industry Classification 2014 are included as separate spreadsheets in the Downloads tab of this publication. Similarly, the correspondences of the ACLC Product Classification 2014 to CPC (Version 2.0) and CPC (Version 2.0) to the ACLC Product Classification 2014 are included as separate tables in the Downloads tab. No correspondences are necessary for the ACLC Occupation Classification because the occupation codes in the ACLC and the ANZSCO codes are the same.

Alphabetic Indices

For ease of identification, an alphabetic index of the primary activities for all of the classes has been created for the ACLC Industry Classification. For the ACLC Product Classification and the ACLC Occupation Classification, an alphabetic listing has been created that reflects the main product class or occupation name, respectively, together with any alternative names or titles.

The alphabetic lists are as comprehensive as possible but not all-inclusive. Appropriate classes for any classification can be located by checking the alphabetic index for the key word or a similar entry, or by examining the numeric listing.

Previous PageNext Page