Australian Bureau of Statistics

Rate this page
ABS Home>Topics @ a Glance > Manufacturing
ABS @ Facebook ABS @ Twitter ABS RSS ABS Email notification service
Topics @ a Glance - Manufacturing Statistics
Using Manufacturing Statistics
Frequently Asked Questions
What Classification is used in the Economic Activity Survey on Manufacturing?

Industry classification

The framework used in designing the sample of the Economic Activity Survey on manufacturing is provided by the Australian and New Zealand Standard Industrial Classification (ANZSIC). The ANZSIC also provides the structure for presenting data on the manufacturing industry.

The ANZSIC distinguishes four levels of industry classification to accommodate both broad analysis and fine dissection of statistical data about the Australian economy. The four levels constitute a hierarchy, Division being the broadest classification level, followed by Subdivision, Group and Class as increasingly detailed dissections. An example of the four levels for manufacturing is

SubdivisionPrimary metal and metal product manufacturing
GroupBasic ferrous metal product manufacturing
ClassSteel pipe and tube manufacturing

ANZSIC Divisions

Manufacturing comprises one of the 19 ANZSIC Divisions covering the Australian economy. Examples of other ANZSIC divisions are: Agriculture, forestry and fishing; Mining; Retail trade; Health care and social assistance; and Construction.

ANZSIC Subdivisions

There are fifteen subdivisions within the Manufacturing Division. Each represents a grouping of broadly related outputs and activities. Where numerical codes are used to identify ANZSIC subdivisions, such codes are comprised of two digits. In the case of manufacturing, the digits 11 to 25 are used. For example Subdivision 24 - Machinery and equipment manufacturing and Subdivision 14 - Wood product manufacturing.


Each manufacturing subdivision is further divided into several groups of reasonably homogeneous industries. The ANZSIC Group level is distinguished by use of three digit numerical codes, the first two digits designating the ANZSIC Subdivision to which the group belongs. For example, Group 113 - Dairy product manufacturing belongs to ANZSIC Subdivision 11 - Food product manufacturing.

ANZSIC Classes

The fourth and finest level of dissection is the ANZSIC class level. Each ANZSIC group is divided into one or more classes. The ANZSIC Class level is distinguished by use of four digit numerical codes, the first three digits designating the ANZSIC Group to which the class belongs. For example, Class 1132 - Ice cream manufacturing belongs to Group 113 - Dairy product manufacturing.

In most instances, industry classes have been formed only if the activities they cover are economically significant in either Australia or New Zealand and the businesses classified to them are homogenous in terms of industrial activity. ANZSIC categories are mutually exclusive and comprehensive in their coverage of productive economic activities.

For more information about ANZSIC classification in general, see Australian and New Zealand Standard Industrial Classification (ANZSIC) Chapter 2: Nature and Objectives of the classification.

For a detailed list and description of the manufacturing classification, see Australian and New Zealand Standard Industrial Classification (ANZSIC). Chapter 8. The detailed classification Division C - Manufacturing.

Frequently Asked Questions

Topics @ a Glance- Manufacturing

Commonwealth of Australia 2008

Unless otherwise noted, content on this website is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 Australia Licence together with any terms, conditions and exclusions as set out in the website Copyright notice. For permission to do anything beyond the scope of this licence and copyright terms contact us.