Australian Bureau of Statistics

Rate this page
ABS Home>Topics @ a Glance > Mining
ABS @ Facebook ABS @ Twitter ABS RSS ABS Email notification service
Topics @ a Glance - Mining Statistics
Using Mining Statistics
Frequently Asked Questions
What Classification is used in the Economic Activity Survey on MIning?

The Economic Activity Survey on mining is based on the Australian and New Zealand Standard Industrial Classification (ANZSIC), 2006 edition ( cat. no. 1292.0). Businesses are therefore selected to represent the different mining industries under this classification. Data are also presented on this industry basis.

The ANZSIC distinguishes four levels of industry classification to accommodate both broad analysis and fine dissection of statistical data about the Australian economy. The four levels constitute a hierarchy, Division being the broadest classification level, followed by Subdivision, Group and Class as increasingly detailed dissections.

ANZSIC Divisions

Mining comprises one of the 19 ANZSIC Divisions covering the Australian economy. Examples of other ANZSIC divisions are: Agriculture, forestry and fishing; Manufacturing; Retail trade; Health care and social assistance; and Construction. Each Division is identified by a unique alphabetical character.

ANZSIC Subdivisions

There are five subdivisions within the Mining Division. Each represents a grouping of broadly related outputs and activities. Where numerical codes are used to identify ANZSIC subdivisions, such codes are comprised of two digits. In the case of mining, the digits 06 to 10 are used. For example Subdivision 06 is for Coal mining and Subdivision 10 is for Exploration and other mining support services.


Each mining subdivision is further divided into several groups of reasonably homogeneous industries. The ANZSIC Group level is distinguished by use of three digit numerical codes, the first two digits designating the ANZSIC Subdivision to which the group belongs. For example, Group 101 is for Exploration which comes under ANZSIC Subdivision 10, Exploration and other mining support services.

ANZSIC Classes

The fourth and finest level of dissection is the ANZSIC class level. Each ANZSIC group is divided into one or more classes. The ANZSIC Class level is distinguished by use of four digit numerical codes, the first three digits designating the ANZSIC Group to which the class belongs. For example, Class 0801 is for Iron ore mining which comes under Group 080, Metal ore mining.

In the ANZSIC, industry classes are created if certain criteria are met. The most important of these are that classes
        • represent recognisable segments of Australian or New Zealand industry
        • are consistent with the requirements of users of the statistics
        • are homogeneous in terms of activities i.e. that classes are made up of business units which undertake similar economic activities
        • are economically significant, and
        • wherever possible align with the corresponding international classification.

For more information about ANZSIC classification in general, see Australian and New Zealand Standard Industrial Classification (ANZSIC), 2006 (Revision 1.0): Introduction

For a detailed list and description of the mining classification, see Australian and New Zealand Standard Industrial Classification (ANZSIC), 2006 (Revision 1.0): Division B - Mining

Frequently Asked Questions

Themes - Mining

Commonwealth of Australia 2008

Unless otherwise noted, content on this website is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 Australia Licence together with any terms, conditions and exclusions as set out in the website Copyright notice. For permission to do anything beyond the scope of this licence and copyright terms contact us.