Australian Bureau of Statistics

Rate this page
ABS Home > Statistics > By Catalogue Number
ABS @ Facebook ABS @ Twitter ABS RSS ABS Email notification service
1362.7 - Regional Statistics, Northern Territory, Mar 2011  
Latest ISSUE Released at 11:30 AM (CANBERRA TIME) 24/03/2011  Final
   Page tools: Print Print Page Print all pages in this productPrint All RSS Feed RSS Bookmark and Share Search this Product



Regional Statistics, Northern Territory (cat. no. 1362.7) presents data using two classification structures from the Australian Standard Geographical Classification (ASGC) (cat. no. 1216.0) – the Main Structure and the Local Government Area Structure – as well as Tourism Regions.

ASGC Main Structure

In the NT the Main Structure comprises two Statistical Divisions (SDs), Darwin SD and Northern Territory - Bal. These in turn are made up of a number of Statistical Subdivisions (SSDs), which are further broken down into Statistical Local Areas (SLAs). The number of SSDs and SLAs depends on the particular edition being used. Maps of these areas are available from the relevant edition of the ASGC.

ASGC Local Government Area Structure

The Local Government Area (LGA) Structure covers legally designated areas over which incorporated local governing bodies have responsibility. Maps of these areas are available from the NT Government's Local Government Boundaries webpage. The SLAs which cover unincorporated areas (excluding Off-Shore Areas and Migratory) in the NT are:

  • East Arm which is on Darwin Rates Act Area land
  • Finniss-Mary
  • Alyangula and Nhulunbuy where both townships come under a Special Purpose Lease
  • Yulara which is owned by private interests.
Tourism Regions

Tourism Regions (TRs) are defined by relevant state and territory tourism organisations. Data are coded to SLAs then aggregated to TRs. TRs are reviewed annually and are subject to boundary and name changes. Details of the composition of TRs and maps of TRs are provided in Tourism Region Maps and Correspondence File, Australia (cat. no. 9503.0.55.001).

Bookmark and Share. Opens in a new window

© Commonwealth of Australia 2016

Unless otherwise noted, content on this website is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 Australia Licence together with any terms, conditions and exclusions as set out in the website Copyright notice. For permission to do anything beyond the scope of this licence and copyright terms contact us.