Australian Bureau of Statistics

Rate this page
ABS Home > Statistics > By Release Date
ABS @ Facebook ABS @ Twitter ABS RSS ABS Email notification service
1384.6 - Statistics - Tasmania, 2006  
Previous ISSUE Released at 11:30 AM (CANBERRA TIME) 10/02/2006   
   Page tools: Print Print Page Print all pages in this productPrint All RSS Feed RSS Bookmark and Share Search this Product  
Contents >> Crime and Justice >> Courts >> Magistrates Court

The Magistrates Court (the Tasmanian lower court) consists of a Chief Magistrate, a Deputy Chief Magistrate and 10 Magistrates who are formally appointed by the Governor on the advice of the government of the day. By virtue of their office, Magistrates are also Justices of the Peace, and Coroners. In addition, Magistrates sit as chairpersons of various statutory tribunals, such as the Sex Discrimination Tribunal, the Police Disciplinary Tribunal and the Mining Division. As a result of this diversity of offices, the Magistrates Court handles a wide variety of legal actions.

The court sits on a permanent basis in 4 cities in Tasmania: Hobart, Launceston, Devonport and Burnie. Magistrates also sit in 18 country courts on a regular circuit basis.

Further information about the Magistrates Court in Tasmania can be found at the following web site,

This section contains the following subsection :
          Court of Petty Sessions
          Civil Division
          Small Claims
          Youth Justice Courts
          Coroner's Courts

Previous PageNext Page

Bookmark and Share. Opens in a new window

Commonwealth of Australia 2016

Unless otherwise noted, content on this website is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 Australia Licence together with any terms, conditions and exclusions as set out in the website Copyright notice. For permission to do anything beyond the scope of this licence and copyright terms contact us.