Australian Bureau of Statistics

Rate this page
ABS Home > Statistics > By Release Date
ABS @ Facebook ABS @ Twitter ABS RSS ABS Email notification service
1220.0 - ANZSCO - Australian and New Zealand Standard Classification of Occupations, First Edition, Revision 1  
Previous ISSUE Released at 11:30 AM (CANBERRA TIME) 25/06/2009   
   Page tools: Print Print Page RSS Feed RSS Bookmark and Share Search this Product  
Contents >> Appendix C New Zealand Register of Quality Assured Qualifications


The five skill levels in the Australian and New Zealand Standard Classification of Occupations (ANZSCO) are defined in terms of formal education and training, previous experience and on-the-job training.

In New Zealand, the formal education and training component is measured in terms of educational qualifications as set out in the New Zealand Register of Quality Assured Qualifications, Te Ahurutanga (the Register). This appendix outlines the Register in practise at the time of the development of ANZSCO.

The Register is a comprehensive list of all quality assured qualifications in New Zealand. Qualifications are quality assured by a recognised approval and accreditation body, and are automatically included on the Register. They can be viewed and compared on the KiwiQuals website.

The Register is the result of extensive consultation and has the support of the New Zealand Vice-Chancellors Committee, the Association of Polytechnics in New Zealand and the Association of Colleges of Education in New Zealand.


The Register has a number of key purposes. They are to:

  • identify clearly all quality assured qualifications in New Zealand
  • ensure that all qualifications have a purpose and relation to each other that students and the public can understand
  • maintain and enhance learners' ability to transfer credit by the establishment of a common system of credit
  • enhance and build on the international recognition of New Zealand qualifications.


The following information is held on the Register:
  • title of the qualification
  • level at which the qualification is registered
  • outcome statement attached to the qualification
  • credit requirements of the qualification
  • subject classification
  • qualification developer/provider details.


The Register has ten levels and comprises qualifications that are registered according to an agreed set of title definitions.

Previous PageNext Page

Bookmark and Share. Opens in a new window

Commonwealth of Australia 2016

Unless otherwise noted, content on this website is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 Australia Licence together with any terms, conditions and exclusions as set out in the website Copyright notice. For permission to do anything beyond the scope of this licence and copyright terms contact us.