Australian Bureau of Statistics

Rate this page
ABS Home > Statistics > By Release Date
ABS @ Facebook ABS @ Twitter ABS RSS ABS Email notification service
1216.0 - Australian Standard Geographical Classification (ASGC), 2001  
Previous ISSUE Released at 11:30 AM (CANBERRA TIME) 28/09/2001   
   Page tools: Print Print Page Print all pages in this productPrint All RSS Feed RSS Bookmark and Share Search this Product  
Contents >> 1. Introduction >> Classification structures

The seven interrelated classification structures of the ASGC are:

    • Main Structure;
    • Local Government Area Structure;
    • Statistical District Structure;
    • Statistical Region Structure;
    • Urban Centre/Locality Structure;
    • Section of State Structure; and
    • Remoteness Structure.

Each of these structures serves a specific purpose and is individually discussed in Chapters 2-8.

In Census of Population and Housing years (e.g. 1991, 1996, 2001), all structures of the ASGC are defined. In intercensal years, only the first four structures are defined.

The Main Structure, the Statistical Region Structure, the Section of State Structure, and the Remoteness Structure cover the whole of Australia without gaps or overlaps. The other structures cover only part of Australia. The structures are hierarchical, with different structures having different numbers of levels (see table 1). Each hierarchical level is made up of one type of geographical spatial unit. The spatial units at each higher level are aggregations of the spatial units at the previous lower level.

Previous PageNext Page

Bookmark and Share. Opens in a new window

Commonwealth of Australia 2016

Unless otherwise noted, content on this website is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 Australia Licence together with any terms, conditions and exclusions as set out in the website Copyright notice. For permission to do anything beyond the scope of this licence and copyright terms contact us.