Australian Bureau of Statistics

Rate this page
ABS Home > Statistics > By Release Date
ABS @ Facebook ABS @ Twitter ABS RSS ABS Email notification service
1384.6 - Statistics - Tasmania, 2005  
Previous ISSUE Released at 11:30 AM (CANBERRA TIME) 14/11/2003   
   Page tools: Print Print Page Print all pages in this productPrint All RSS Feed RSS Bookmark and Share Search this Product  
Contents >> Manufacturing and Energy >> Energy >> Structure of Tasmania's electricity suppliers

As a result of National Competition Policy, on 1 July 1998 the Hydro Electric Commission (HEC), a government enterprise, was split into three separate entities, each with a discrete area of responsibility. The three entities are:

  • Hydro-Electric Corporation (trading as Hydro Tasmania)
  • Transend Networks Pty Ltd
  • Aurora Energy Pty Ltd.

Hydro Tasmania is responsible for the generation of electricity in Tasmania with 27 hydro, one thermal and two diesel power stations and wind farms (source:

Transend Networks Pty Ltd owns and operates the electricity transmission system in Tasmania and is responsible for the transmission of electricity between power stations and the local distribution network (source:

Aurora Energy is responsible for the distribution and retailing of electricity to the end user in Tasmania (source:

Previous PageNext Page

Bookmark and Share. Opens in a new window

Commonwealth of Australia 2016

Unless otherwise noted, content on this website is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 Australia Licence together with any terms, conditions and exclusions as set out in the website Copyright notice. For permission to do anything beyond the scope of this licence and copyright terms contact us.