Australian Bureau of Statistics

Rate this page
ABS Home > Statistics > By Catalogue Number
ABS @ Facebook ABS @ Twitter ABS RSS ABS Email notification service
1291.0 - A Guide to Major ABS Classifications, 1998  
Latest ISSUE Released at 11:30 AM (CANBERRA TIME) 03/09/1998   
   Page tools: Print Print Page RSS Feed RSS Bookmark and Share Search this Product  

Classifications used in Government Finance Statistics

The classifications used in Government Finance Statistics (GFS) are applied to institutional units of the public sector and their transactions/flows. The public sector comprises institutional units such as Commonwealth and State general government units as well as public financial and non-financial corporations such as Telstra and electricity operations of State and local governments.

GFS uses ‘unit’ classifications and ‘transaction/stock’ classifications.

The main classifications applied to units are:

      • Institutional Sector (i.e., general government, public financial corporation, public non-financial corporation); and
      • Level of Government (i.e., National, State/Territory, Local).

The principal classifications applied to transactions and flow data are the Economic Type Framework (ETF), the Taxes Classification (TC) and the Government Purpose Classification (GPC). This overview outlines these classifications.

Previous PageNext Page

Bookmark and Share. Opens in a new window

Commonwealth of Australia 2016

Unless otherwise noted, content on this website is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 Australia Licence together with any terms, conditions and exclusions as set out in the website Copyright notice. For permission to do anything beyond the scope of this licence and copyright terms contact us.