Australian Bureau of Statistics

Rate this page
ABS Home > Statistics > By Release Date
ABS @ Facebook ABS @ Twitter ABS RSS ABS Email notification service
1301.0 - Year Book Australia, 2007  
Previous ISSUE Released at 11:30 AM (CANBERRA TIME) 24/01/2007   
   Page tools: Print Print Page RSS Feed RSS Bookmark and Share Search this Product  
Contents >> Government


Image: GovernmentGOVERNMENT

This chapter was contributed by the Politics and Public Administration Section of Library of the Commonwealth Parliament (September 2006).

Australia has a federal system of government within which there are four divisions: Commonwealth, state, territory and local.

This chapter outlines the basic features of the Australian system of government, including:

    • constitutional basis of government
    • the Sovereign
    • the Governor-General
    • Commonwealth Parliament
    • Australian Government
    • Australian Public Service
    • Commonwealth elections
    • state government
    • territory government - self-governing
    • territory government - non-self governing
    • local government
    • political parties.
It also provides details of the Commonwealth ministry, and of the state and territory government leaders.

This section contains the following subsection :
      Constitutional basis of government
      The Sovereign
      The Governor-General
      Commonwealth Parliament
      Australian Government
      Australian Public Service
      Commonwealth elections
      State government
      Territory government
      Local government
      Political parties
      Reference notes

Previous PageNext Page

Bookmark and Share. Opens in a new window

Commonwealth of Australia 2016

Unless otherwise noted, content on this website is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 Australia Licence together with any terms, conditions and exclusions as set out in the website Copyright notice. For permission to do anything beyond the scope of this licence and copyright terms contact us.