Australian Bureau of Statistics

Rate this page
ABS Home > Statistics > By Release Date
ABS @ Facebook ABS @ Twitter ABS RSS ABS Email notification service
1218.0 - Standard Economic Sector Classifications of Australia (SESCA), 2002  
Previous ISSUE Released at 11:30 AM (CANBERRA TIME) 13/09/2002   
   Page tools: Print Print Page RSS Feed RSS Bookmark and Share Search this Product  
Contents >> Appendixes >> Appendix 6: Use of SESCA in BOP and IIP statistics

Appendix 6: Use of SESCA in BOP and IIP statistics

The three main combinations of sector classifications used in ABS BOP and IIP statistics are shown below.

    1.General Government/other
    General government
    2.Broad institutional sectors (i.e. the BOP sector classification)
    General government
    Reserve Bank of Australia
    Depository corporations
    3.Combined public/private and sector classification
    Public sector
    General government
    Public financial corporations
    Reserve Bank of Australia
    Depository corporations
    Other public financial corporations
    Central Borrowing Authorities
    Public non-financial corporations
    Private sector
    Financial corporations
    Non-financial corporations
The first combination above is used to present information on the current and capital transfers from and to Australian residents.

The second combination is used mainly to present income credits, and transactions in, and levels of, foreign financial assets and liabilities.

The third combination is used mainly in the presentation of information on Australia's foreign debt transactions, levels of foreign debt, and the income accruing on that debt. Also used in ABS BOP and IIP statistics are the direct investment enterprise/other enterprise classification and the direct investor/other investor classification. These classifications are used in the standard presentation of, respectively, foreign equity in Australian enterprises and Australian equity in foreign enterprises.

Previous PageNext Page

Bookmark and Share. Opens in a new window

Commonwealth of Australia 2016

Unless otherwise noted, content on this website is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 Australia Licence together with any terms, conditions and exclusions as set out in the website Copyright notice. For permission to do anything beyond the scope of this licence and copyright terms contact us.