Australian Bureau of Statistics

Rate the ABS website
ABS Home > Statistics > By Release Date
ABS @ Facebook ABS @ Twitter ABS RSS ABS Email notification service
1384.6 - Statistics - Tasmania, 2007  
Previous ISSUE Released at 11:30 AM (CANBERRA TIME) 13/09/2002   
   Page tools: Print Print Page Print all pages in this productPrint All RSS Feed RSS Bookmark and Share Search this Product  
Contents >> Fishing >> Wild fisheries >> Abalone >> Management of the abalone fishery

The abalone fishery has been managed for over 15 years by means of a quota system, which limits the amount of the legal commercial catch.

The total allowable catch (TAC) for 2002 is set at 2,537.5 tonnes. This is distributed across four fishing zones: eastern blacklip (857.5 tonnes); western blacklip (1,260 tonnes); northern blacklip (280 tonnes); and greenlip (140 tonnes).

  • The TAC is divided into 3,500 parts, called abalone quota units. During 2002 each quota unit is equivalent to 725 kilograms.
  • Each quota unit is then separated into four sub-units, 1 sub-unit for each fishing zone. Abalone divers need to be authorised by the holder of abalone quota units before they can take the weight of abalone corresponding to the abalone quota unit.
  • There are 125 abalone diving licences, which permit a diver to fish commercially for abalone.

Legal minimum size limits provide further protection for abalone stocks. The size limits are set to protect a proportion of the reproductively active abalone population, thereby enabling all animals to have the opportunity to reproduce twice before they can be harvested. Size limits have been refined as more research has become available.

In the abalone fishery divers must make telephone reports prior to fishing and after fishing. They must also declare their exact weight on landing and various other details on a Commercial Abalone Diver's Docket. The processors are required to complete further details on the docket.

Previous PageNext Page

Bookmark and Share. Opens in a new window

Commonwealth of Australia 2015

Unless otherwise noted, content on this website is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 Australia Licence together with any terms, conditions and exclusions as set out in the website Copyright notice. For permission to do anything beyond the scope of this licence and copyright terms contact us.