Australian Bureau of Statistics

Rate this page
ABS Home > Statistics > By Release Date
ABS @ Facebook ABS @ Twitter ABS RSS ABS Email notification service
4221.0 - Schools, Australia, 2008  
Previous ISSUE Released at 11:30 AM (CANBERRA TIME) 17/03/2009   
   Page tools: Print Print Page Print all pages in this productPrint All RSS Feed RSS Bookmark and Share Search this Product



1 The structure of primary and secondary schooling in Australia varies between states and territories. In 2008 the Northern Territory has moved to exclusively include Year 7 students in secondary education. The two basic patterns evident in current formal schooling in Australia are illustrated below:

  • In NSW, Vic., Tas., NT and the ACT primary education comprises a Pre-Year 1 grade followed by Years 1 to 6. In NSW and the ACT, Pre-Year 1 is called Kindergarten, in Vic. and Tas. it is called Preparatory and in NT it is called Transition. Secondary education comprises Years 7 to 12.
  • In Qld, SA, and WA primary education comprises a Pre-Year 1 grade followed by Years 1 to 7. In Qld Pre-year 1 is called Preparatory, in SA it is called Reception, and in WA it is called Pre-Primary. Secondary education comprises Years 8 to 12.

Schooling structures across Australia in 2008
Diagram: Schooling structures across Australia in 2008

2 Each state and territory also has a preschool sector which is separate from primary and secondary schooling. Data on preschool education within schools have been excluded from primary enrolments and staffing estimates in this publication.

3 Variations to the structure of schooling also occur over time. See Explanatory Notes, paragraphs 7 to 9, for examples of changes to schooling structures.


4 The age at which children may attend school is the subject of separate legislation within each jurisidiction. In 2008, the age at which a child's attendance at school becomes compulsory was 6 years for all states and territories except Tasmania, where it was 5 years. In practice, the majority of children start earlier, with minimum starting ages restricting enrolment to children aged between four and a half to five years at the beginning of the (Pre-year 1) school year.

5 In 2008, children were required to be at school (or undertaking the school curriculum in the case of home schooling) until:
  • reaching 15 years of age (NSW, Vic., NT and ACT) or
  • reaching 16 years of age (SA and Tas.) or
  • reaching 16 years of age or completing year 10 (Qld) or
  • the end of the year in which students turn 17 (WA).

Bookmark and Share. Opens in a new window

Commonwealth of Australia 2016

Unless otherwise noted, content on this website is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 Australia Licence together with any terms, conditions and exclusions as set out in the website Copyright notice. For permission to do anything beyond the scope of this licence and copyright terms contact us.