Australian Bureau of Statistics

Rate this page
ABS Home > Statistics > By Release Date
ABS @ Facebook ABS @ Twitter ABS RSS ABS Email notification service
4902.0 - Australian Culture and Leisure Classifications, 2008 (Second Edition)  
Previous ISSUE Released at 11:30 AM (CANBERRA TIME) 16/07/2008   
   Page tools: Print Print Page Print all pages in this productPrint All RSS Feed RSS Bookmark and Share Search this Product

The Australian Culture and Leisure Classifications (ACLC) are part of the commitment of the Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS) to develop national standards for culture and leisure information. They comprise three separate classifications, covering culture and leisure related industries, products and occupations.

The classifications of the ACLC focus on the economic side of culture and leisure activities - that is, the way culture and leisure activities are linked to the economy through direct expenditure and employment. The ACLC does this through three classifications: Industry, Product and Occupation. The Industry Classification lists industries consisting of organisations for which the main activity is the production or provision of culture and leisure goods and services, and is based on the Australian and New Zealand Standard Industrial Classification (ANZSIC). The Product Classification consists of a list of culture and leisure goods and services (together known as products). These products are the primary outputs of the industries listed in the Industry Classification; in addition, they may also be produced by other industries (for example, museum services may be provided by a business in the mining industry). The Occupation Classification, which is based on the Australian and New Zealand Standard Classification of Occupations (ANZSCO), lists occupations which are predominantly culture or leisure in nature.

These classifications are adopted by the ABS and organisations outside of the ABS for survey design, organising administrative data and disseminating culture and leisure information.

This is the second edition of the ACLC, following the first edition developed in 2001. This edition reflects a minor review undertaken to update ACLC concordances to the new editions of standard ABS classifications. A summary of the changes can be found in the appendices of the publication.

Bookmark and Share. Opens in a new window

Commonwealth of Australia 2016

Unless otherwise noted, content on this website is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 Australia Licence together with any terms, conditions and exclusions as set out in the website Copyright notice. For permission to do anything beyond the scope of this licence and copyright terms contact us.