Australian Bureau of Statistics

Rate this page
ABS Home > Statistics > By Catalogue Number
ABS @ Facebook ABS @ Twitter ABS RSS ABS Email notification service
1291.0 - A Guide to Major ABS Classifications, 1998  
Latest ISSUE Released at 11:30 AM (CANBERRA TIME) 03/09/1998   
   Page tools: Print Print Page RSS Feed RSS Bookmark and Share Search this Product  

The Standard Economic Sector Classifications of Australia (SESCA) present a system for classifying institutional units (such as enterprises and households) into appropriate sectors of the economy. A major component of the SESCA is the Standard Institutional Sector Classification of Australia (SISCA) which forms the basis for the institutional sectoring of a range of statistics in the ABS, including the National Accounts, Balance of Payments, International Investment, Financial Accounts and Government Finance Statistics.

SISCA is often used in conjunction with a number of other supporting classifications such as Public/Private classification, Level of Government classification, Jurisdiction classification and the Type of Legal Organisation classification (TOLO). This group of classifications and other related classifications are together presented as the SESCA. These associated classifications allow further identification and detail of particular characteristics of institutional units classified under the SISCA.

Previous PageNext Page

Bookmark and Share. Opens in a new window

Commonwealth of Australia 2016

Unless otherwise noted, content on this website is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 Australia Licence together with any terms, conditions and exclusions as set out in the website Copyright notice. For permission to do anything beyond the scope of this licence and copyright terms contact us.