Australian Bureau of Statistics

Rate this page
ABS Home > Statistics > By Catalogue Number
ABS @ Facebook ABS @ Twitter ABS RSS ABS Email notification service
1220.0 - ANZSCO - Australian and New Zealand Standard Classification of Occupations, 2013, Version 1.2  
Latest ISSUE Released at 11:30 AM (CANBERRA TIME) 26/06/2013   
   Page tools: Print Print Page RSS Feed RSS Bookmark and Share Search this Product  
Contents >> Major Group 1 Managers >> SUB-MAJOR GROUP 13 Specialist Managers >> MINOR GROUP 139 Miscellaneous Specialist Managers >> UNIT GROUP 1392 Senior Non-commissioned Defence Force Members


    SENIOR NON-COMMISSIONED DEFENCE FORCE MEMBERS implement and enforce directives of commissioned officers of the Australian and New Zealand Defence Forces.

    Indicative Skill Level:
    In Australia and New Zealand:

      Most occupations in this unit group have a level of skill commensurate with a bachelor degree or higher qualification. At least five years of relevant experience may substitute for the formal qualification. In some instances relevant experience and/or on-the-job training may be required in addition to the formal qualification (ANZSCO Skill Level 1).

    Tasks Include:
    • supervising a small group of subordinates
    • maintaining discipline of subordinates
    • monitoring the morale, welfare and behaviour of subordinates, and advising commanding officers accordingly
    • instructing subordinates in dress, deportment, demeanour, behaviour, drill and devotion to duty to maintain military standards
    • conducting military drills and inspections
    • teaching military traditions and customs

      139211 Senior Non-commissioned Defence Force Member


    Implements and enforces directives of commissioned officers of the Australian or New Zealand Defence Forces.

    This occupation includes the following ranks:
    Air Force: Flight Sergeant, Sergeant, Warrant Officer, Warrant Officer of the Air Force
    Army: Regimental Sergeant Major of the Army, Sergeant, Warrant Officer Class 1, Warrant Officer Class 2
    Navy: Chief Petty Officer, Petty Officer, Warrant Officer, Warrant Officer of the Navy

    Skill Level: 1

Previous PageNext Page

Bookmark and Share. Opens in a new window

Commonwealth of Australia 2016

Unless otherwise noted, content on this website is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 Australia Licence together with any terms, conditions and exclusions as set out in the website Copyright notice. For permission to do anything beyond the scope of this licence and copyright terms contact us.