Australian Bureau of Statistics

Rate the ABS website
ABS Home > Statistics > By Catalogue Number
ABS @ Facebook ABS @ Twitter ABS RSS ABS Email notification service
1216.0.55.003 - Australian Statistical Geography Standard: Design of the Statistical Areas Level 4, Capital Cities and Statistical Areas Level 3, May 2010  
Latest ISSUE Released at 11:30 AM (CANBERRA TIME) 21/05/2010  First Issue
   Page tools: Print Print Page Print all pages in this productPrint All RSS Feed RSS Bookmark and Share Search this Product


The Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS) intends to replace the current Australian Standard Geographical Classification (ASGC) with the new Australian Statistical Geography Standard (ASGS) with effect from July 2011. Specific information is available on the current ASGC and the proposed ASGS respectively in the following ABS publications: Australian Standard Geographical Classification (ASGC) July 2009 (cat. no. 1216.0), Review of the Australian Standard Geographical Classification (cat. no. 1216.0.55.001) and Outcome from the Review of the Australian Standard Geographical Classification (cat. no. 1216.0.55.002).

The purpose of this paper is to provide background to stakeholders regarding the Statistical Areas Level 3 (SA3s) and 4 (SA4s), and the Capital Cities of the ASGS and, to seek input from stakeholders to facilitate consultation on their design.

The SA3 and SA4 are two of the new levels in the hierarchy of regions defined by the ASGS. As depicted in diagram 1, mesh blocks build up to SA1s, which in turn build up through the SA2, SA3, SA4, State and Territory to the whole of Australia.

Capital Cities will be constructed of whole SA4s.

Diagram 1: The ASGS Main Structure

Diagram: ASGS Main Structure

For complete structural diagrams of the ASGS, please see the Appendix.

The SA3 level is intended to represent a regional sub-state geography, broadly similar to the current Statistical Divisions in regional areas and Statistical Subdivisions within the major cities.

The SA4 level is intended to replace the current ABS Labour Force Regions (LFRs).

Bookmark and Share. Opens in a new window

Commonwealth of Australia 2015

Unless otherwise noted, content on this website is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 Australia Licence together with any terms, conditions and exclusions as set out in the website Copyright notice. For permission to do anything beyond the scope of this licence and copyright terms contact us.