AREAS AND BOUNDARIES.

THE Australasian Colonies comprise the continent of Australia, the adjacent island of Tasmania, and the islands of New Zealand. The group is politically subdivided into seven Colonies, which, with the area of each, are as follow :--

	Square Miles.
New South Wales	. 310,700
Victoria	. 87,884
Queensland	. 668,497
South Australia	
Western Australia	. 1,060,000
Australia	3,030,771
Tasmania	. 26,215
New Zealand	104,471
Australasia	3,161,457

The British Empire extends over an area of 8,040,000 square _{Comparative} miles, so that nearly two-fifths of its area are embraced within the lasia. limits of the seven colonies. Australasia is more than twenty-six times as large as the United Kingdom, more than fifteen times as large as France, more than half as large again as Russia in Europe, and almost equal in extent to the continent of Europe or to the United States of America.

The mainland of Australia lies between $10^{\circ} 39'$ and $39^{\circ} 11\frac{1'}{2}$ AUSTRALIA. south latitude, and the meridians of $113^{\circ} 5'$ and $153^{\circ} 16'$ east longitude. Its greatest length is 2,400 miles from east to west, and its greatest breadth, 1,971 miles from north to south. Its area may be approximately stated at 3,030,771 square miles, and its coast line 8,850 miles, equal to one mile to each 342 square miles of land, the smallest proportion of coast shown by any of the continents.

New South Wales lies principally between the 29th and 36th NEW SOUTH parallels of south latitude, and between the 141st and 153rd meridians of east longitude. The length of the Colony, from Point

AREAS AND BOUNDARIES.

.

٠,

X

,

1

,

.

ډ

Danger on the north to Cape Howe on the South, is 680 miles. From east to west, along the 29th parallel, the breadth is 760 miles; while diagonally, from the south-west corner—where the Murray passes into South Australia—to Point Danger, the length reaches 850 miles. The seaboard extends over 700 miles.

VICTORIA.

Victoria is situated between the 34th and 39th parallels of south latitude, and the 141st and 150th meridians of east longitude. The extreme length from east to west is 480 miles, and the breadth 240 miles. The coast line is about 600 miles.

QUEENSLAND. Queensland lies between the 11th and 29th parallels of south latitude, and the 138th and 153rd meridians of east longitude. The greatest length from north to south is 1,300 miles, and the breadth, 800 miles. The coast line is about 2,550 miles.

South Australia. South Australia extends from the 12th to the 38th parallels of south latitude, and from the 129th to the 141st meridians of east longitude. The greatest length from north to south is 1,850 miles, and the width, 650 miles, with a seaboard of 2,000 miles, of which about 900 miles are washed by the Indian Ocean, the Arafura Sea, and the Gulf of Carpentaria.

WESTERN AUSTRALIA. Western Australia consists of the country between the 14th and 35th parallels of south latitude, and the 113th and 129th meridian of east longitude. The greatest length north and south is 1,280 miles, and the width from east to west 800 miles. The coast line is about 3,000 miles.

TASMANIA. Tasmania is an island situated about 150 miles south of Victoria, from which it is separated by Bass' Strait. It lies between 40° 33' and 43° 39' south latitude, and the meridians of 144° 39' and 148° 23' east longitude. Its greatest length from north to south is 210 miles, and its greatest breadth from east to west is 200 miles. Including the adjacent islands its area is 26,215 square miles.

NEW ZEALAND AND ITS DEPENDENCIES.

.

New Zealand is to the east of Australia; its nearest point to NEW ZEALAND. the mainland being Cape Maria van Diemen, which is 1,175 miles from Sugar Loaf Point, in New South Wales. New Zealand and its dependencies lie between the 33rd and 53rd parallels of south latitude, and between 166° 30' east longitude and 173° west longitude.

The North Island, or New Ulster, has a length of about 515 North Island. miles, by a breath of about 250 miles; its area is estimated at 44,467 square miles, and its coast line at 2,200 miles.

The South, or as it is officially called the Middle Island, or south Island New Munster, has a length of about 525 miles by a breath of about 180 miles. Its area is 58,525 square miles, and its coastline measures 2,000 miles.

Stewart Island, or New Leinster, lies off the southern extremity Stewart Island. of South Island and has an area of 665 square miles; its greatest length is 30 miles by a breadth of 25 miles.

Including the Chatham Islands, the Auckland Islands, the Area of New Zealand. Campbell Islands, the Bounty Islands, and many others which are dependent, the total area of the Colony of New Zealand is estimated at about 104,470 square miles.

7